Garden Appreciation Day!

May 15, 2013 at 8:24 am Leave a comment


Garden Appreciation Day | Petiole Junction

I’ll bet most of you know how this works.

So often, when you go out into your garden, you see everything that needs to be done instead of everything you’ve accomplished. You spot the stray weeds while overlooking the beautiful foliage. You see the plant you really need to move rather than soaking in the beauty of your overall garden landscape. It’s easy to get caught up in our to-do lists, while overlooking our well-done lists.

Today, I was cleaning up sticks in my front garden in the wake of a crazy wind storm the previous evening. A lady came by walking her dachshund. She saw me cleaning up and commented, “You work so hard, and then nature undoes everything.” I said that the damage wasn’t just so bad, and that at least none of my plants seemed to have suffered more than a broken frond or two.

We got to talking a bit more and she said, “I’ve been walking by here for a few years now, and every time I see your yard I think to myself, ‘She’s really made this beautiful.'” I thanked her, and she went on to tell me that she waits for my garden to come up every spring so she can admire it.

Obviously, her comments made my day. I’m always looking at other gardens, which are many times better than my own, and admiring other people’s handiwork. My garden always seems to be lacking (and often severely) by comparison. Rarely do I take the time to appreciate what I’ve done, and all I’ve accomplished. All it took was one lady with a dachshund to remind me that I need to do that more often.

So, my gardening friends, appreciate your gardens! Let’s consider today Garden Appreciation Day. What do you appreciate about the gardens your hands have helped create?

Entry filed under: Gardening Life. Tags: , .

Spring Flowering Perennials for Dry Shade

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m on Twitter…


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

Recent Posts